Looking for an interesting vehicle for city transportation

So, I’m moving to NYC fairly soon, and I’m psyched. I’ve been a pretty avid driver since I got my license, and log quite a few miles every year. Now that I’m going to be in the city, though, I’d like to get something more suitable to that sort of situation. I’ve always been interested in interesting modes of transportation, and this seems like a great chance to delve into that subject. I fully intend to use the subway for commuting and such, but I want a personal vehicle that I can operate on the street. I’ve used a bunch of modes of “personal transportation” over the years; bicycles, mopeds, go-peds, gas and electric scooters, etc), and I’m wondering what people have noticed/used/been impressed by in terms of personal transportation.

Probably the most important criteria is that the vehicle must be portable – not in the sense that it moves, but in the sense that I can bring it inside my apartment, or workplace, or wherever I might be where I’d rather not leave it unattended for too long. Even with chains, desirable stuff will get stolen. So the ability to, well, move it inside is pretty key.

As far as human-powered versus motorized vehicles, I’m game for either. I’ll likely buy a bicycle if I get something that’s motorized, anyway, but if the vehicle is cool, the power source is not an issue.

“Street legality” is something I’d have to look into; I’m not even sure how the laws apply to various types of vehicles in the five boroughs, although I’m fairly certain you can’t really ride anything on the sidewalk. Basically, although I welcome any leads (simply because I’m interested in the concept in general), I’m looking for something that I can use to travel in the city without being arrested. Call me a do-godder. :smiley:

Welp, I think I’ve rambled on enough, and hopefully I’ve given some idea of what I’m interested in. I appreciate any information/heads-ups/experiences/etcetera that people can give.