"lost" da vinci drawing: real? fake? misattributed?

what are your opinions on this piece?

i caught last night’s NOVA discussing it, tho as an artist i had already heard.

my personal stance is it’s probably not a forgery but not a da vinci either. the evidence paints that picture so long as you are coming at it from that frame of mind. but the evidence alone doesn’t mean HE had to do it.

i believe it’s from the old book and was drawn as a frontispiece, probably from the renaissance time period, but there’s no reason to think it was da vinci.

i do not think it looks like his work. it’s more naturalistic and lacks his stylistic freedoms.

opinions?

The face looks kinda 19th century German, so I can see the confusion, but maybe she was simply a very pretty girl. I like the needlework on her shoulder. It’s clearer in the magazine and is totally Leonardo, but Wife is the (actually trained) art historian.

ETA: Saying that, there is no reason to assume that Leonardo, or any ONE artist, worked on it. “Tony, I did the hard parts but I’m going to lunch. Finish it up,” was how things worked.

If it weren’t for one of his patrons I’d suggest he jobbed out parts of it to his apprentices, but the Boss should get the real deal.

Real.

i agree it looks much more northern renaissance than of the italian ilk.

if someone said it was a Holbein, i’d get on board. but this whole thing started with “wouldn’t it be great if it were by da vinci!!” and then they set out to find evidence of that. they didn’t find evidence it was da vinci THEN decide it might be. they did it backwards.

None of the original arguments in favour of the attribution seemed to me to be especially convincing and the counter-suggestion that it was by Schnorr actually looked rather promising. But then Martin Kemp came up with the argument that it’s from the Warsaw copy of the Sforziad.