Mac vs. Windows vs. *nix vs. whatever

Okay, I know this has been done a million times before. But I’ve recently come to a realization about my own experience that I think may be illustrative of the situation. I plead for calm in a topic which generally becomes an overheated shitstorm in a hurry.

So, I’m an expert-level user of Windows. I have used Mac (for about a year about 8 years ago), and Linux (even less than that). Assuming things work right, I can do just about whatever I need to do with any of those systems. If things get hairy, though, I’m mostly at a loss how to get under the hood and fix things in anything other than Windows.

At work, I’m a computer tech. I’ve got a lot of down-time which is essentially waiting for something to break. So, I decided to finally learn how to use Linux. I set up an old box we had lying around with the express intention of installing at least one distro of Linux, and hopefully setting up a file server with it.

Well, this damned thing fights me at every turn.

Many Linux distros install really easily. Some cough and hiccup and ask me questions I plain do not know the answer to.

Okay, assuming that I get the thing up and running, my problems are not over. Some of them automatically detect my wheel-mouse without any problem. A few don’t, and I needed to look up a couple of lines of configuration information I need to copy into a file in order to get it to work.

Setting the clock has been an unmitigated nightmare. The distros tell me that the standard setup is to set the computer clock to UTC, and the OS will make the translation from that to my time zone. It never works that way, though. If I set the clock to local time, it seems to be expecting UTC. If I set it to UTC, all of the sudden, it’s expecting local time.