Macromedia Flash

Hello all…I guess you can chalk this one up to lazyness, but I’m in a bit of a hurry. I’m trying to develop a web page for my small business and i’ve downloaded a trial version of Macromedia Flash MX Version 6 and have about a week left of use before I need to register it but before I do that i’d like to know that’ll i’ll be able to use it the way I want. I’ve done the tutorials and the lessons and I still have a simple question…if I want to create a mouseover effect, so that If I have a button somewhere on the page and I’d like a picture or text box to change to another picture or text box when the mouse pointer is over the button how exactly would I do that? I’m assuming that it has to do with an actionscript, but I’m still new to all of this so laymen’s terms would be great…thanks guys!

Two things:

(1) Flash or not - make sure you provide an HTML alternative version of your site - not everyone has Flash or likes it

(2) You can do mouseover effects with very simple javascript. Try http://javascript.internet.com for free sample scripts. (You will be amazed at some of the effects you can get on a web pages from this site, all using simple html and javascript).

Thanks istara, that may be a better route to take, i’m also learning Dreamweaver 4 and since posting this and reading a little more about previous posts with reference to Flash i’ve discovered that i’m not the only one who gets annoyed with Flash.

I should be able to use the javascripts with Dreamweaver right?

Yes - it should provide some scripts built in. It’s helpful if you have enough grasp of javascript and html to be able to go in manually to debug and debloat your html files. There are some apps that will “clean up” code for you as well.

http://www.webpagesthatsuck.com is fantastically useful for web design help and advice. They also have a chapter of their new book available for download in pdf form - I read it today and found it very interesting and informative.