Mahjong and Epilepsy

Can Mahjong induce epilepsy, like this story claims? Before I hear “I doubt it.” let me say I do too.

Here’s the story.

http://www.spiritindia.com/health-care-news-articles-12003.html

Anybody have any better source for this claim?

Not so much that mah-jong induced or caused the epilepsy in the first place, but that in a person with epilepsy it can serve as a trigger for seizures, like Mary Hart’s voice.

Some more explanation and links here

That still confuses me. Is it triggered by an emotional event, or just because they think of something like an a tile. The thought of the tile just triggers it for a weird reason? They have emotions associated with the game that trigger it?

It’s probably more complex than just seeing a tile or imagining playing the game. Consider the following hypothetical situation, and bear in mind that I am pulling it out of my butt because I’m not a mechanic:

A car has a slightly bad fuel injector, a slightly bad spark plug, and a couple of slightly bad sensors that might normally be able to compensate for the above. Individually, these faults would not reinforce each other, but under certain ‘unusual’ inputs like high temperature, high load, high altitude, and low octane gas, they feed back on each other and cause the engine to lose power. The upshot is that your car runs fine until you fill up at a particular gas station on the road to Las Vegas and drive up a mountain pass, hitting the ‘sweet spot’ at just the right moment. Then your car dies.