Mammogram, Ma'am

I’m looking for info on how mammography works (X-ray? Ultra-sound?) and what, specifically, it’s designed to detect. A preliminary run through search engines revealed plenty of sites but I’m somewhat leary of getting medical info from sites I’m unfamiliar with. Can anyone here give me a brief explanation and point me in the direction of trustworthy web resources? Keep in mind that I’m not a medical scientist so anything aimed at the layman would be a bonus.

Thanks,
Hodge

Mammograms are a type of X-ray of the breasts.

After looking it over, I think that your other questions will be answered here, especially the internal links entitled “Background Information” and “What Women Should Know” (and, as I’ve said before, any site from the NIH or NCI is usually good).

It’s an x-ray that (hopefully) shows tumors ‘n’ such. Search for it on WebMD

Simple answer. It’s an x-ray. The breast is flattened and a x-ray taken of it. In a normal breast, all the soft tissue (no pun intended) inside of it is the same density and shows up as the same color on the x-ray film. If there is a lump of stuff (tumor, cancer, cysts, anything different) inside the breast, then it shows up because it is different from the surrounding tissue.

What mammograms do is pick up lumps of stuff that are too small to be detected by the hand (SBEs).