Management/Employee relations

Last night my wife was discussing her new job (QC Manager for a widget firm) . She mentioned that this new place like in her old position, employees seemed to segregate themselves from the management in the lunchroom. I’m also a manager where I work, and after a few moments of reflection, it occurred to me that I too, normally sit alone at lunch. She also mentioned the looks of dread or other expressions that people take up when she approaches them. I don’t so much have this problem, as for some reason, which escapes me; I’ve become the defacto employee liaison to the rest of the management staff. People wander into my office all the time to tell me their problems, which I relay or solve as necessary.

Now these things don’t bother me much, I’m more or less an aloof person anyway, preferring to be able to read my latest novel at lunch. But it really bothers my wife, that people seem afraid of her. So what’s going on? Is this cultural? Anyone else experience similar? Opinions please.

What your wife is experiencing is the typical symptom and byproduct of the hierarchical management system common to most organizations. Since managers have more perceived power than staff, there is always an underlying distrust by those below. Distrust is exhibited by a lack of equal communication.

By the force of your personality, you have managed to mostly break through the perceptual straitjacket and earn the trust of more staff. In my 20 yrs experience, I bet a few staff members are always trying to manipulate you in that liaison role.