Management: Poll regarding resumes

There was an article on MSN this morning, 8 resume mistakes, or something to that effect.

In it, it says that you should not use the word ‘I’. It gives an example, something like:

should be re-written as:

I have heard this advice for many years. But as a hiring manager myself, I can say that I just don’t care which style they use - I’m interested in the content, in the background, in their abilities. In short, will they fit the position.

Managers, what is your input? Do you care? Do you notice? Would it sway you at all?

I’m not so fussed about how people write their resumes. Its the content I’m interested in as Khadaji said “the background, in their abilities. In short, will they fit the position.”

As long as it shows correct spelling, punctuation, and grammar – of course, I’m usually interviewing for editors, so any mistakes along those lines get a free pass to the reject pile.

The trick is not to use too many I’s. I did this, I did that, I did the other, gets boring.

Yes, I’m interested in content over format, but I’m expecting a reasonable format, as well. Someone who can’t think about the audience/reader, for instance, isn’t going to make it in my org.

Hiring manager for the last 12 years here -

Resumes that I will reject almost instantly go pretty much according to the following:

1. LOTS of bad spelling mistakes, grammar, etc. - one or two isn’t a big bother, but when I start having doubts about the person’s ability to communicate, the thing hits the reject pile.

2. Self-aggrandizing. Yeah, too many “I’s” tend to head in that direction, but so do generally overblown listings of experience and accomplishments written in any form.

3. Instant “no-fit” for the job. For instance, I’m hiring an engineer and a quick look at the education of the individual shows that it ended at high school - I don’t have the time for that.