Math

In physics and engineering there are some pretty strange equations, but for the most part they result from a logical build up of more elementary functions. On the other hand this……
1 / [sym]p[/sym] = ([sym]Ö[/sym]8 / 9801) [sym]S[/sym]{(4n)![1103 + 23369n] / (n!)(396)[sup]411[/sup] } n = 0 to infinity

……is beyond me.

Where could a formula like this have come from?

I know, I know, from someone’s brain, but HOW? Is there some kind of logical flow of thought that could produce this monstrosity? Or did it just pop out whole?

If that is one of Ramanujan’s formulas, it just popped out whole. His inventiveness and imagination awed, and continue to awe, other mathematicians, so it’s no wonder we mere laymen are overwhelmed.

Yes it is one of Ramanujan’s formulas. Sorry I meant to include that.

But I can’t believe it just popped out whole.

Plus, Ramanujan was entirely self taught wasn’t he?

Yeah, Ramanujan was a pretty smart dude. He just invented stuff like that, without knowing how. He was self-taught, and people are still trying to decipher his notebooks.

I have some experince dealing with math gurus(#1). From what I have seen I came to a conclusion that is probably un-supportable(SP?). IMHO, people who excel at math have a brain-wired talent for the field. Wheather that comes from genes or the environment, I don’t know. For whatever reason complex math to us mortals is easy to them. At the same time they do work really hard at what they do. So, maybe, talent + drive == genuis.

But I could be wrong.

Eric

#1. I grew up around PHD’s in Math and Physics. All recieved 4.0’s.(#2)
#2. While doing tech support for Intuit I spoke to a guy who I thought was the dumbest MF I had ever encountered. He couldn’t even drag and drop on a Mac. We had to restart and while waiting I asked him what he did. He responded “Oh, I am a nerosurgeon(SP?) at John Hopkins”. D’oh, guess he wasn’t that stupid, just focused else where.