May I Come In?

Sometimes when I go to see a professor during his posted office hours, I get there and his office is open, but empty. I get tired of standing in the hallway (especially today, he was 50 minutes late!) Is it rude to go on in and take a seat?

Cessandra

The Power Of Christ: 2000 years and He hasn’t come yet!

You stood outside for 50 minutes? I hope not.

I would think it would have been rude to take a seat in someone’s office, especially if you haven’t been invited.
The professor was being rude though for not observing office hours or leaving a note to explain the situation.

I would have left a note for the professor to say that you were there and wanted to speak to him/her. Or you could go to the department office and ask where the prof is.

However, this is 1980s etiquette we’re talking about.

Speaking as a former professor, I wouldn’t consider it rude. He did leave the office open and it was during a time when visitors would be expected.

First, a word of advice. It doesn’t matter if a bunch of anonymous nerds on the internet agree that it’s not rude; what matters is your professor’s opinion.

That said: I would be very hesitant to go in if the professor wasn’t there; I’d rather sit on the floor in the hallway. The professor probably has stuff in there that you have no business seeing (other students’ grades, drafts of upcoming tests, etc.) and you do not want to even raise the suspicion that you might have been poking around in those things.

The most politic thing to to do would be to leave a note/voicemail/e-mail telling the jerk you were there at the posted times, when can we meet again?

I would only go in if I were very friendly with the prof. Most are too squirelly to get informal with them.

A reply from a mere, lowly Lecturer (IIRC, the second-to-last lowest faculty member here)…