Medical alert systems: anyone have any experiences to share?

My wife’s grandmother is 83, and is at the point where she really needs to wear one of those gizmos with a button to push in case she falls, breaks her hip, and can’t get back up again to get to a phone and call 911.

So, does anyone have any experiences (mostly secondhand, I’m sure, given that we don’t have that many octogenarians on the board) to relate about such systems/products/whatever? Who’s good, and who should we stay away from?

I forget who manages it but my aunt had one when she lived at home. She either tripped and had a heart attack or had a heart attack and fell. It saved her life.

Happy to help.

Here are a couple of devices that work without a service. They just dial the phone remotely, with 911 being the last number called.

Here are a couple of companies that offer more service at less cost than Life Alert.

Hmmm. I’m a visiting nurse and just about all my patients have them. I’m not sure of which co. we use. I would say go with cost and one that’s been around at least 5 years.

Make sure you test the unit at least once a month. The company will probably do a monthly test as well but I like to have my patients test it every once in a while. Also, make sure your family member actually WEARS the button. Some of my patients just hang it by their bed.

I tell them that it won’t do them any good there if they fall in the kitchen! And also make sure the receiver is in a location where the operator can hear your family and also be heard. For instance, if the box is set up in the bedroom and family falls in the bathroom, the operator may not be able to hear them.
It’s much better to set the box up in a more central location. HTH.

Check with your local hospital ER or your local ambulance service. They can tell you which companies in your area have the best track record for reliability and accuracy.