Medicare and How the Game is Played

so, I am now on Medicare with a “Plan F” supplement and a private policy which actually includes Part D.

I have been using sleeping pills for 15 years.
I have had osteoarthritis for 10 years.
Kidney failure for 7 years

Since going from a nice PPO to this Medicare-based Frankenpolicy, I seem to be getting more attention from the U of Cal medical group.

All of a sudden, I get referrals to:
MRI
PT
2 obscure Nephrology tests I’ve never heard of
Polysomngraph (sleep) (which, of course finds that I simply MUST have a CPAP*)

I am just suspicious enough to think that the group has decided that the way to compensate for the lower payments Medicare provides, is to ding them for more procedures.

Anyone else find a sudden absolute need for testing/equipment once they switched to Medicare?

• my problem is getting to sleep, not staying asleep. Adding a mask and a machine to fiddle with is not likely to help the onset of sleep. If I was waking or not dreaming, I’d be more amenable to CPAP.

Medicare does pay for chronic kidney disease, but now they are interested in reimbursing for ‘good outcomes,’ and not on the old ‘fee-for-service’ basis, so that may explain the additional tests.

Health care coverage and payments are undergoing big changes. You may be part of a ‘managed care’ plan for those with ‘co-morbid conditions’ in an effort to keep you healthier for longer.

I do love the term “Co-Morbid”. So absolutely perfect!

I remember the term “managed care” from my mother’s terminal nursing home experience - she had more tolerance for bullshit pencil-pushers than I.

So far the “management” has been “cut his opioids (DEA) and then put him on PT to ensure more pain than he can control”.

And the longer I last under these conditions, the better?

I guess the definition of “good outcome” varies.

I think it is called “The Chronic Kidney Disease Initiative.”

I can’t find much that is not an abstract, but here is one I found: