Menstrual Synchrony

In reference to today’s column:

http://www.straightdope.com/columns/021220.html

I can easily understand how a statistical fluke can give the impression of synchronicity. Statistics are slippery things even at their apparently most simple. It’s easy to see a group of women with nearly identical cycles “lining up” at one time and giving the impression that something other than chance was behind it all.

But Pepper Mill had a truly irregularly-spaced period, and she appeared to be causing the normally regular women in her group to have matching irregular periods. It was because of their complaints that she ultimately ended up on the pill as a way to “regularize” her timing. In this case, it’s hard to explain the synchronicity as just probability. Pepper’s group certainly thinks there’s something to the idea of influencing each other’s cycles.

On a similar note, I lived in a coed fraternity house when I was an undergrad. One of the women who lived there had a cycle of approximately fifty days. Seriously. Since this was normal for her, it wasn’t something she typically went around worrying about at length. A few months into the fall semester, every other woman who lived on the same floor she did started experiencing longer cycles. By the end of the year, most of them were having cycles that matched hers pretty closely. Since none of them realized that this one woman had freakishly long cycles to begin with, they all thought they were late, every month.

I would describe the row of pregnancy tests lined up on the bathroom counter every six weeks to be unbiased evidence, not subject to statistical trickery. It’s too bad we didn’t run a controlled experiment at the time. She could have published a paper.

I can only offer anecdotal evidence as well.