Michiganders, er, Michiganians

Figured someone should start a thread about this before they started yelling at us on “Geographical Misconceptions.”

Yes, ARG220, people from the UP have an accent. And you know what? People from the LP have an accent, too. I learned this when I moved to Colorado. The two accents are different, but both tend to draw out the oooo’s. Y’know, the “abooot” syndrom.

Athena, what I’ve noticed the most about UP’ers is the tendancy to sound like they are swallowing their words. Do you know what I mean? Sounds thicker. Weird, eh?

Now, it is my understanding that the general view of the “Yooper” accent is a slightly less thick version of a thick canadian accent(a la the movie Strange Brew). My experience is that the yooper tends to sound like they are over-pronouncing their words, trying to hard to shake an accent. 'Course, I’m a “troll” (a person living “Under the bridge” meaning the lower penninsula) so I am not an expert.

“If you love someone, set them free. If they come back, set them on fire.”----George Carlin

Ya’ heh there, it’s gud to meet people from up nort’. Catch any pike lately? Care for a brat and pop? Uffda!

When I was a Michigander, I wondered if my wife was a Michigoose?

Zymurgist

I’m a Michigan transplant, and I think LP Michiganders sound like a cross between New England, Canada, and Nashville.

The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don’t have it.
George Bernard Shaw

You aren’t too far off. The major English language immigrations came from upstate New York (as opposed to New England), Ontario, and Kentucky (as opposed to Tennessee).

Tom~

I know someone disputed a contention, as printed in a letter to Games, that people from Michigan detest the term “Michigander” (we’ve already been through a discussion of Abraham Lincoln’s use of the word.) But this exchange occurred on the old Hollywood Squares:
Q. What is a Michigander?