Military Dopers: Night-vision goggles

Okay, first of all, I have no experience in the military, modern or otherwise. Second, my only knowledge of night-vision goggles is based upon what I’ve seen in movies and TV shows. Third, I realize that Hollywood doesn’t always depict tech accurately.

Nevertheless, I have to ask: do night-vision goggles even remotely leave the wearer with a glowing, green bullseye on his/her face? That would seem completely stupid and counterproductive to me, and I can’t believe that even Hollywood would think it reasonable depict something that dumb.

No.

I have some Gen-one binoculars that emit quite a bit of light from the eyepiece.
I’m sure that if I held them away from my eye, and they were aimed at a bright IR source, the reflected green light would be VERY visible to anyone looking at me through gen-2 or 3 goggles.

No.

First, the viewing lens’ light or ‘backscatter’* onto the face from the initial lens doesn’t throw out that much light. . . it’s not like the reflection of your computer monitor on your face in a dark room. It’s more like the reflection off your face from looking at your Indiglo watch. It’s very low level, and unless you’re within a few feet of someone, you won’t even notice the haze. Your Indiglo watch has more direct noticeable light than backscatter face reflection from NVGs.

Second, there are ‘eye cups’ that help shield the backscatter, but are there more to focus the user on the picture being displayed. These cups help mitigate any reflection off the face, and can rest gently on the orbital areas to ‘seal off’ the user from bright side light or other interference.

Tripler

• Note: I couldn’t think of a better term.

So, yeah, I know that what the wearer sees might be this green image, but having that green showing “up front” … yeah, no.

Some night vision goggles have an IR “torch”. I’m not sure if they emit in the visible spectrum at all, I’d assume not because that would be self defeating.