Mini-portable electrical heater electricity use

I was thinking about buying one of those little guys basically to keep my hands warm or whatnot on long nights studying.(I am apparently afflicted with insomnia, and i’m a student, so it helps sometimes).

I was wondering how economical the they are. Or should I just use the built in heater for my apartment? I’m assuming the builtin is electic since essentially everything else in this apartment is.

I live in north california currently.

If you turn the heat off in the apartment and just use the portable to heat the top of the desk, and keep the door to the room closed, I say you will come out well ahead in terms of the electricity bill. Of course, it’s hard to tell without models to compare to the heater in the building.

Resistance heaters are all gonna have about the same efficiency. Somewhere around 100% seeing as how they intended to produce heat.

You need to weigh though other impacts of the portable heater before buying, like how much you pay for it vs the savings on your electricity bill, the fire hazards involved, and the ecological impact of it eventually ending up in a landfill.

Probably just spot heat. i’m usually under a blanket at my desk reading those late nights. but my toes and my hands get a little cold.

Harmonix-

What kind of heater do you have in your apartment? I ask because apartments here are usually heated with radiant baseboard heaters that have their water heated from a central boiler room. Of course, winter here can be a little more severe than what you get in California. Electric heaters are really uncommon here since we all live over a huge repository of relatively inexpensive natural gas.

Our bedroom is usually the coldest room in the house … :slight_smile: … so we have a small space heater with a ceramic element. These are much safer than heaters that use conventional elements and very efficient.