Minute taking

Here’s a short and sweet poll:

1. In your company/organization who takes minutes for your meetings?
  2. If your answer to #1 is the panel’s appointed secretary, assume there isn’t such a position. Now who would or should the responsibility fall upon?
  3. Is that particular person who you’ve chosen normally an active participant in the meeting?

I work as a professional in a mega-corp. The closest thing to what we have like you are talking about are follow-up action points. They are just brief e-mails saying who agreed to do what. We don’t outline whole meetings. Sometimes there is attached peripheral documentation to refer to however like Powerpoint presentations and things.

To the extent minutes are kept of office-wide meetings, it is done by our Administrative Officer - a quasi-managerial position.

But the main reason I’m replying is to offer one of my time-tested secrets for how to score points for any workgroup/team/committee you get assigned to. At the first meeting, if no one else raises the topic, offer to keep the minutes. Bring a laptop to the first meeting with you. Most likely the rest of the group will appreciate your willingness to perform this un-sexy task. (I have NEVER had someone else express a willingness to take minutes.) And you get credit for being such an eager participant, and such a good team player!

Then, during the meeting bang away on your keyboard taking notes for your future minutes. Because you are so busy recording all of the vital proceedings for posterity, unfortunately you won’t be free to fully participate in all of the exciting discussions. You’ll undoubtedly be especially busy at any moment that they are requesting volunteers for specific projects that might require work.

Then, very soon after the meeting, circulate your minutes to the meeting participants. With a little effort, you will have been able to put them in final form during the meeting itself.