Misdemeanors on Job Applications

What are the requirements when filling out a job application? Some only ask for felonies, and others ask for everything. I have a friend who majored in Human Resources Management, and he said that by law you only have to report felonies.

I personally have a few misdemeanors on my record from college about 3 ½ years ago (I used to be a partier/pothead): 2 paraphernalia, 1 possession marijuana less than an ounce, and 1 maintaining a disorderly house.

Since then, I got a Finance degree with a 3.6 GPA and was on the Dean’s list 3 times. I am a mortgage analyst in the Midwest, and have 2 years experience and an impressive resume.

I’m moving to Los Angeles, and therefore need to find a new job. My current employer is so small that they didn’t even check my record. But I’ll be applying at a lot of bigger companies that I’m sure will check. So I’d like your opinion regarding how I should handle these questions.

I could put it down on a job app, but I don’t want them to know if they are not even going to check, especially since my friend said that legally I don’t have to put it down unless it was a felony. I could just put it down and hope that my honesty will impress them, but I think overall that I should just leave it out.

I’d like to think that some companies would realize that I was just an idiot in college at the time. I’d also like to think that out in southern California that companies would be a little more forgiving about the whole marijuana thing than they would in the ultra-conservative Midwest.

What are your opinions? Thank you in advance.

IANAL, nor do I work in Human Resources. I suggest either following the instructions on the application to the letter (if it says “felonies” then don’t report misdemeanors) or consulting with a lawyer licensed in California and knowledgable of California employment law. Actually I’d suggest doing both.