No, he didn’t. In the scenario, the horrible throw prompted the runner to attempt for third.
This is how it works – Batter gets a base hit. Outfielder comes up throwing. If the runner is going full tilt out of the box and the throw is bad, there is no error. (The runner didn’t try for second because of the throw; no assumption can be made that a throw on the money gets him out for reasons I stated above.) If the runner rounds first but slows down, and then he advances to second after the outfielder has made the bad throw, there can be an error. It is up to the scorer.
The way you are describing it simply is not what the rulebook says. Nothing you’re saying is in the Official Rules. The Rules are very clear, and there is nothing about whether or not the runner slows down. You are welcome to post actual evidence contradicting the Official Rules, or demonstrating that there is some interpretive document somewhere in use by organized baseball.
You also were not reading Ulf’s post very carefully. He said:
[QUOTE=Ulf the Unwashed]
In your example, say the batter singles to right and tries to stretch it to a double. Francoeur would beat him easily with a decent throw, but it isn’t a decent throw. It’s so bad the runner tries to take third, only is thrown out–then yes, the scoring would be
single
E9 permitting runner to reach second
runner thrown out at third.
[/QUOTE]
There’s nothing here about the runner slowing down, or the throw prompting him to attempt to get to second. The runner tried to get to second, and Francoeur’s throw is why he makes it and then attempts to get to THIRD. That is an error. It does not matter if the runner was hell bent for leather on getting to second the whole way; if he makes it there because the throw was wild, it’s an error, Rule 10.12 (a)(5).
One can certainly argue that but you would do so in defiance of the Official Rules and common sense. Nowhere does it say you can’t assume a runner would have been thrown out taking an extra base, and in fact Rule 10.12(a)(5)* quite clearly is meant to show a scorer can assume exactly that*.