More Oogy Skin Stuff From Broomstick (TMI of course)

I have a nice case of contact dermatitis. Granted, I’m not a doctor, but I’ve had it often enough to recognize it. No, I am not asking for medical advice, but I am planning to see the doctor tomorrow as this time around it seems to exceed my ability to self treat.

GIS on “contact dermatitis” for examples. I’ve got the little mini-blisters and swelling, although my arm is not as swollen as some of the more lurid examples on Google. Probably picked it up while trimming trees and bushes recently. The guy I’ve been working for was gibbering POISON IVY! POISON IVY! Well, it might be, except (at least up until now) poison ivy, ironically, did NOT cause me to break out in a rash (the resistance runs on my father’s side of the family). Personally, I think it’s more likely to be a locally common type of thistle-like plant, known as “pricky weed” to some of the old timers, which can also generate vivid and textured rashes. Or maybe a tomato plant, as they definitely cause such rashes on me. Or something else, as there is no shortage of things for me to be allergic to in the natural world.

The rash started a couple days ago with an itch. As noted, there has been some swelling and some mini-blisters, some of which have ruptured. Ew. I am leaking a good part of the time. I went to open a jar and had a couple pop from the flexing, which I suppose means I either have awesome forearm muscles or a really gross skin condition (or both?)

Anyhow, while the itch has diminished the swelling and blistering has not, and my energy levels are starting to drop which has, in the past, been the preclude to more visible signs of a skin infection. I wrapped my arm in gauze bandage today, then cut the toe out of an old (but clean) sock to make a tube to cover the mess while I was at work today to protect the skin, and there were fewer signs of rupture and ooze.