Most addictive street drugs?

Just of curiosity, not a personal thing. My positioning of heroin is derived from some research, as I haven’t ever indulged.

Mine, in descending order:

1. Heroin
  2. Cigarettes*
  3. Oxy
  4. Xanax/other benzos

Let’s include prescription drugs that are often diverted to the street.

*Based on what my psych says

Edit: oops, forgot to consider meth, coke, and amphetamines as top candidates!

I think meth needs to be at the top of the list.

What position do you think meth should occupy in a list?

#1. That’s why I said “at the top.” :slight_smile:

I have no experience with any of these, except smoking a few cigarettes during undergrad.

A friend of mine who was hooked on both heroin and cigarettes said he had an easier time quitting the heroin.

Crack should be on this list.
A 60 second high and then you want some more.

I have been working with addicts and alcoholics for the past 25 years and I really culdn’t tell which is the most addictive. It depends a lot on the personality of the user I think. I have lots of friends who have struggled with heroin addiction for decades with many periods of a few years at a time clean. Meth users seem to be at least as bad but tend to have a decent recovery rate once they get a couple of years in clean.

It is hard to say with the prescription drug users because they lie so much, they will say they are prescribed but tend to turn up dead from overdoses all too often.

No guess from me, they are all bad.

People rarely use crack, meth, or heroin unless they’re already addicted to other things, usually alcohol and who knows what else, so it’s hard to say.

Addicts across the board almost always start with tobacco (which is an illegal drug if they’re under 18) and also say that it’s the hardest to quit, and not just because you can buy it anywhere.

You forgot caffeine. It’s the only highly addictive drug legal around the globe, and probably has the most addicts.