Most embarrassing admission of ignorance?

What have you said and then immediately wished you hadn’t said, not because it was rude or malicious, but because it showed how ignorant you were of something everyone else in the world knew?

Mine: I was on a cricket tour of Swansea (then aged 26) and upon being haring from the other lads that there was a wet T-shirt competition at a local pub, I said I hadn’t brought a T-shirt.

I’m going red repeating the story nearly 20 years later.

This was said to me in some misguided attempt to either put me down or impress the other guys present. I was at a gathering of some of my old high school friends when I mentioned a book that I was reading. This young ditz spoke up, “Oh Gawd! You read? I haven’t read anything since I graduated from high school!” A stunned silence followed as no one could think of a reply that wouldn’t just make the situation even more embarrassing for her. She turned bright red, mumbled something, and left in a hurry.

“You mean you have to buy the hamburger seperate from Hamburger Helper? It doesn’t come in the box?”

“Is Cuba an island?”

I said that last one a few days ago and still feel extremely ashamed. I’ve been studying our atlas since then.

One my daughter won’t let me forget –

We were playing Trivial Pusuit and I had some question about where a river ends and in my ruminating the question I mumbled “Well Egypt is close to England so…” I am forever more labeled geography impaired and anytime any geographical information is needed my daughter’s response is:

“Don’t ask mom, that’s a Blue question.” :slight_smile:

I just learned a few days ago that “Orange Pekoe” tea is not, in fact, a flavoured tea but simply a brand name :o

From this website:

I’m sorry, but it’s not a brand name. I’m drinking some orange pekoe tea right now. Tetley. Mmmmm!

Just a few weeks ago I came to the realization that Porsche is German.