Most recent common ancestor of all living birds

So birds evolved from dinosaurs. And I’ve seen many news articles over the last few years about various discoveries of dinosaurs with feathers, and some that may have even had wings. Did modern birds arise from a single one of these species, or multiple dinosaur species? Did the most recent common ancestor (MRCA) of all birds have a beak? Did it have teeth? Could it fly?

Birds didn’t just evolve from dinosaurs, they are dinosaurs. That isn’t just a semantic quibble. Modern day birds like chickens are more closely related to T-Rex than T-Rex is related to crocodiles or even other dinosaurs like the Stegosaurus. The list goes on but the dinosaur grouping has had lots of members over hundreds of millions of years and modern day birds are closer to the middle than the fringes of it.

That said, I am not an expert on the part of your question about modern birds evolving from another single dinosaur species or not and then branching off from there. Everything I have read leads me to believe this is still a hot-topic in avian evolutionary biology.

The most recent common ancestor of all birds had teeth, but the most recent common ancestor of all living birds didn’t. We know this because no living birds have teeth.

That doesn’t logically have to be true, does it? Isn’t it possible (though perhaps less likely) that descendants of the MRCA might have lost their teeth in separate lineages?

Sure, though by the same logic humans are fish (which, if I understand correctly, is true in cladistics). But we don’t generally refer to people or mammals as a subgrouping of fish, so I think it’s also reasonable to use the words ‘bird’ and ‘dinosaur’ as they are commonly used.

All modern birds are descended from a common ancestor that could fly, and lacked teeth in its beak. Only one non-flying feathered dinosaur gave rise to modern birds (although we have not really identified which one it was).