Motorcycles in Rain

I just started riding a 150cc scooter a few months ago. Being that I live in Oregon I ride in the rain a lot. I try stopping quickly sometimes to test the traction of my tires, and I stop really well. However I notice that turning feels really differently when the road is wet. It’s as though the scooter is more “responsive”. I’m not sure if this is normal or if I am running up against the limit of my traction and should take it as a warning. It’s not like I’m going really fast. In fact, it seems more noticeable at slower speeds. Any of you experienced riders know what I’m talking about?

I’m a weekend fair-weather motorcycler, but have been caught in the rain on occasion.

To me, it feels…different.

Maybe it’s my own apprehension, but it feels like my wheels could slide out from under me at any moment.

That’s exactly the feeling. But when I brake real hard I still seem to have traction.

I suggest you explore that limit at low speeds on a parking lot that is not quite level, while wearing a full face helmet and gloves, unlike me, who explored it back in college on an asphalt road with gravel sprinkled on it. :slight_smile: Scooters have a pretty low center of gravity and can go down unexpectedly quickly. On a nice flat surface, you can lock up your front wheel and keep it in control if you are careful, but add a slight side-grade or lean and you’ll be on your face in no time.

Don’t know much about motorcycles, but as a cyclist I can only warn you: watch out for manhole covers when it’s wet out. I hit one just yesterday when I was maneuvering around some pedestrians who’d wandered into the street, and even at low speed the tire just slid like it was on ice.

Also, stay away from painted lines on the road especially those wide ones at stop lights. When wet, they are as slick as greased monkey snot; we’re talking ZERO traction here. Don’t ask how I know.