Motorcyclists: cheap helmets vs pricey helmets

I started riding about a year ago, and I got a fairly cheap helmet – a full face HJC, about $150. I’m reasonably happy with it; but then, I don’t have much basis for comparison.

If I was to upgrade to, say, a $500 Shoei*, what would I notice immediately? Fit, comfort, features…? They’re all DOT/Snell approved, so I’m assuming that they’ll all provide the same level of protection.

(*Is that pronounced Show-ee? Or Shoo-eye?)

Maybe better sound protection? More aerodynamic? Better graphics? :smiley:

Is there a merchant or a website anywhere that lists that helmet? Usually there’s a “nifty features” list of what cool stuff they have that makes it worth it to blow $500 on their helmet.

Very interested in this thread - I finally found a bike I like, and I’ve been looking around at gear while I save up money (slowly…) to actually get it.

I know *nothing *about any of this gear, and there’s so much for sale, and so much conflicting advice, especially about helmets!

I believe the actual pronunciation should be ‘show-ay’, since it’s Japanese. But I say ‘show-ee’, as do most people I’ve heard pronounce it.

It’s not really relevant, but this brought back memories for me of an old Bell helmet ad from the 70’s (and I may well have misremembered both the manufacturer and the date):

“If You’ve got a ten-dollar head, go ahead and wear a ten-dollar helmet.”

(Please note that I’m not implying that there’s a quality difference in the helmets named in the OP. This was just an ad from a manufacturer of (then) pricy helmets.)