MS Access Question: Global Name Change Possible?

I created a very nice database, and now I want to use it to make other databases for other people/places.

However, as it was my first major Access Database, I stupidly named everything after the case/company.

What I mean is, in this database I now have the JohnstonTable, the JohnstonQuery, the JohnstonReport, the JohnstonFax…

Getting the idea?

I want to either remove ALL references to Johnston, or replace it with XY or whatever.

The problem is, if I don’t change ALL references, then you know things are going to get screwy, fast.

Do I have to go in and change each one individually?
Or is there a global search and replace on MS Access?

I highly recommend Rick Fisher’s Find and Replace utility. I’ve got both the A97 and A2K versions and is definitely worth the $29. Rick has also been very helpful in complex F&R type stuff that is not in the help manual. (I’m a professional developer and am not affiliated with RF except as a happy customer)

agree with BF. There are other find and replace utilities for Access out there, but for the money, nobody beats Rick Fisher’s utility for the money, especially for support. (No, I’m not affiliated with Rick Fisher :). I’m a project manager at a software company).

Access 2000 and XP have “Name AutoCorrect” but it’s not very powerful. From the Help menu:

On the Tools menu, click Options.
On the General tab, do any of the following:
To have Microsoft Access maintain the information it needs to run Name AutoCorrect, but not take any action, select the Track name AutoCorrect info check box.
To have Access run Name AutoCorrect as name changes occur in the database, select the Perform name AutoCorrect check box.
To have Access keep a log of the changes it makes each time it runs Name AutoCorrect, select the Log name AutoCorrect changes check box. Access saves the changes in a table called Name AutoCorrect Log. Each change is a record in the Name AutoCorrect Log table.