Multi-zone receiver (audio-related)

I’m not sure whether this should be in IMHO or GQ, but I’ll start in GQ:

I have a Sony bookshelf stero system ( Sony MHGCX9000 ). Wiring for extra speakers is in several different rooms of my house and to my deck for outdoor speakers.

Currently, the extra speakers (deck speakers and bedroom speakers) are spliced into the main speakers for the Sony system. I’d eventually like to get a multi-zone receiver to handle the extra speakers, but right now the current setup is working (nevermind that all the speakers are live all the time as long as the system is on).

My question is whether or not I’m damaging my system by splicing in the extra speakers.

I’m a home theatre/audio novice. Any help would be appreciated.

Oh, I found this thread via search that brought up some interesting information about switches.

What was the outcome of your quest, cowgirl?

• There are generally-advised methods for doubling speakers, and quadrupling speakers. This page shows them, and explains why (scroll down a bit)-- http://www.recess.co.uk/tech.html
        —Basically, there is no easy way to add “any”-number of speakers, and still have everything working well. For best results the amplifier has to always be connected to the same amount of impedance, no matter what combinations of speakers are in use–and this is damn difficult in practice to do. You end up using resistors or inductors just to load the amp properly, and these things don’t contribute to the sound output so this is not ideal. In the past dual-voice-coil speakers were used fo rthis, but that concept seems to have been lost to antiquity. There are standardized circuitries for switching among two, three and four speakers, but not much beyond that.