Multiple models of medicine?

Disclaimer: I don’t expect you to be a doctor. I think some of you have nursing or related experience and I’m particularly interested in those opinions. In any case, though, I’m not going to be taking names or using any of this as court evidence.

An old girlfriend was recently diagnosed with lung cancer. I’m not sure what stage it’s at, but it seems severe enough that she called me about it even though we’ve been estranged for a long time.

Not to worry, says my martial artist friend. He’s a sports therapy consultant who has studied chi gong, reiki, crystallography, aromatherapy, and acupuncture. He’s sure he can apply various herbs, smokes, oils, and energy fields that will completely cure my sister’s lungs. Half the battle, he says, is convincing the mind and body that it doesn’t have to put up with the malady and telling the disease that it’s not welcome in your body.

I’m a martial artist, too. I’m familiar with the theories (and some usage) of chi/ki energy. I’ve worked at health food stores and fitness clubs and I’ve seen the naturopathy, homeopathy, aromatherapy, and essential oils stuff come and go and come again. In the late 1970’s I dabbled in pyramids and crystals and numerology and astrology and psi/psychic phenomena. I’ve successfully completed chiropractic, acupuncture, and Chinese herbalism treatments and I’ve come out of those feeling better and truly healed.

My view of pharmaceutical science is that it starts with those ‘magical’ herbs, oils, and smokes to strip away the unnecessary or counterproductive ingredients and isolate the active ingredients that address medical problems. Then they establish proper dosages, treatment regimens, etcetera. This means I’ve become pretty convinced that alternative medicines are not refined enough in their methods to handle cancer, brain damage, or lung disease.