Musical "hook"

I see the term used often. But I’m not a musician and I’m not sure what parts of a song are the “hook”. Here is a quote from Wikipedia about the Stones’ song, “This could be the last time”

“A full live performance is also prominently featured in the 2012 re-edit of the 1965 documentary Charlie Is My Darling. The footage confirms that the rhythm chords and guitar solo were played by Keith Richards, while the song’s distinctive hook was played by Brian Jones.”

Can one of you musicians link to a recording of the song and list what time the hook is played? Or any other song you like.

A song can have multiple hooks, but I would call that riff played in the intro, like literally right when the song begins and is repeated through the song, is the main hook.

The hook brings you back.

To gitcher picture on the cover of the Rolling Stone

“Hook” by Blues Traveler is an interesting song. The chord progression matches Pachelbel’s Canon’s, one of the catchiest songs ever. Basically the entire song is a one big ‘hook’ from start to finish. And the lyrics mock the listeners for being so easy to manipulate into liking the song.

The main hook in the OP’s song is the guitar lick played right at the beginning.

In general, the hook is the part you find yourself humming when you have the song playing in your head. Some songs can have multiple hooks - often described as a “hooky” song. The opening guitar lick in “Layla” for example, is a great hook.

I always considered Blues Traveler’s “Hook” as being somewhat ironic, in that it doesn’t have a real hook to my ears. Just a very catchy melody and very famous chord progression. Basically Popper just saying he can write just about whatever he wants on top of those chords and you’ll tap your feet and hum along and love it.

For “This could be the last time”, the 7 or 8 note riff that starts at :15 here.

Later Keith Richards became the Stones’ primary hookmaster. Here’s a pretty familiar one that starts at about :20.