My First Thanksgiving As The Chef - Help!

This year my mother in law is spending 3 weeks in Israel right before Thanksgiving so she won’t be cooking. My husband’s aunt just had knee surgery and won’t be able to stand for the long periods of time that it takes to cook Thanksgiving dinner. Because of these things they were talking about all of us just going out to dinner on Thanksgiving when I opened my big mouth and said, “Oh, I’ll cook Thanksgiving dinner! It will be wonderful!” They all agreed and now I am going to be cooking dinner for 5-8 people.

:eek:

I’ve never cooked Thanksgiving dinner before! Why the hell did I volunteer for this? Well, what’s done is done and now I am coming to you for help. I cook pretty regularly and am a decent hand in the kitchen but I’ve never done a huge meal like this before. I have the following:

1 stove w/4 burners
1 medium sized oven with adjustable shelves inside
1 crock pot
1 toaster oven
1 microwave
various baking and serving dishes

Is that enough to get Thanksgiving dinner out on the table? How the hell do you bake everything when the turkey needs to be in the oven for practically half the day? For those people who have offered to bring something what should I tell them to bring? Do I need to wear pearls while I cook? Do you have any stories about hilarious happenings on your first try at Thanksgiving?

Catering is indicated…

The big thing is to plan by working backwards from when the meal is served. So, for example, if the meal will be served at 2 pm, and the turkey takes 4 hours in the oven, the turkey needs to be in the oven at (or a little before) 10 am.