My meager attempt to move the needle on CA Proposition 8

I’ve been working for the better part of the last week on a series of arguments against California Proposition 8. More exactly, arguments that counter those of ProtectMarriage.com — the primary backer of the proposition.

I’m relatively new to California and don’t have a wide circle of friends to share my work with yet, and so I thought I would at least share it with the folks on the Dope (knowing full well that if anyone can poke my arguments full of holes, it would be this place) — in an effort to bring some cogent arguments to the table.

I’d like to request that if you think my arguments hold water, share them with others… especially those who may not have thought through the matter entirely. It’s in the form of a PDF and you can find it here. Again, if you think it has merit, feel free to download it, use it, share it, whatever.

Or just let me know what you think.

Being pro-civil-union/anti-gay-marriage, I immediately saw a big one you left out- Institutionalizing gay marriage will make religious individuals & organizations more vulnerable to anti-discrimination laws for staying faithful to their religious convictions.

This is great! It shall be posted on my facebook!

Only one tiny tiny suggestion: As a volunteer with the official No on 8 campaign, I can tell you that there has been some worry about “wrong way voting” – there are people out there who are totally in favor of same-sex marriage, but don’t realize that they should therefore vote NO on 8, because it actually takes away that right. The staff on the campaign are now even avoiding saying the ‘y’ word. So if the words “NO on 8” somehow showed up in the introduction or something, that would be cool.

Hi FriarTed! I used to hold the exact same views, so I know where you’re coming from.