My (slightly) new perspective on the actors strike

I’m not a large consumer of scripted television or even movies, but the strike was big news so I sorta kept half an eye on it. A big issue was AI, and I sympathized because I could see that becoming a threat and I tend to lean toward unions anyway. However, I thought AI was largely a future threat. It’s NOT! It’s NOW!

I’m an ICU nurse and I recently decided to go back to school after ten years. My last project this semester for my pharmacology class was to record a mock drug commercial for a drug of my choosing. I suck at presentations like that. So I googled “free stock video” and that led me down a rabbit hole of video production with adobe, vimeo, and a number of other services. I also looked for “text to speech”. Oddly, all this eventually led me back to my own native windows 11 and a program hiding in all that bundled chaff you don’t normally look at called “clipchamp”. I liked it and started poking around. The thing has AMAZINGLY convincing text to speech. Pauses here and there, accenting certain words in sentences, and other stuff that humans do, but we are not used to machines doing. The days of the Steven Hawking voice are gone. I used that TTS for the entire mock commercial and it’s almost as if I paid actual voice over actors. (although, as smart as the thing is, it couldn’t pronounce “amiodarone” so I had to spell it “ahmioderown”).

Anyway, it occurred to me while I was putting this thing together that if I, a complete amateur with zero experience, can produce convincing voice overs using free software on a mid priced laptop, AI has most likely already replaced some voice over actors. One of the voices I used was called “Ryan (multilingual)” and I swear I’ve heard it before in actual commercials. Even though the actor’s guild “won” that strike, I’m not sure they can stop stuff like this. The big name actors are probably fine, but the little, work-a-day voice actors? Maybe not so much.