Naked Newbie Coming Out

::cautiously approaches lectern, gathers his courage, and speaks to the Teeming Millions::

Hello. Let me introduce myself. My name is algernon… and I am a newbie.

I feel a little exposed, hence the title of this OP (plus of course the attention getting aspect of the word “naked”), for newbies seem to be looked upon with a certain amount of skepticism and disdain. Low posters in general often seem to generate a cold sneers, as if the post count is a leading indicator of intelligence or ability to contribute. To be fair however, I’ve also seen courteous warm welcomes extended to newbies. Yet I still feel like I’m a stranger attending a cocktail party where everyone already knows one another.

First, a bow of admiring appreciation to all you out there (well, all of you but you… and you know who you are)… as a group you are intelligent, witty, thoughtful, engaging, and entertaining… which is all a bit intimidating to a mere mortal like me.

What leads me to these attributions? As I think you would describe it, I’ve lurked within this space for a couple of years. I start every day with my daily dose of Calvin and Hobbes and the Straight Dope. I personally feel that lurking seems a little too sinister of a term for what I’ve been doing, but nonetheless, it’s a term you all seem to understand.

Being a newbie, I’m a little afraid of making mistakes. Mistakes don’t seem to be tolerated very well, but here goes…

I actually have three questions that I think are appropriate for this Forum.
[ul]