'Naked' Singularites

What are they? How could they possibly exist?

Fuzzy recollection is that it could happen from black hole evaporation or something dealing with spin.

I think they are prohibited by the laws of nature. I seem to recall someone once speculating about such a thing being possible but I don’t see how. If light can’t escape the singularity (and therefore nothing can escape) how are you supposed to ever get information about one to you?

See http://www.straightdope.com/mailbag/mhawkingradiation.html

That is just too weird.

The day I post it there is an article on it in SD? I need to look at the front page more closely.

Still, if it did exist, what would it look like? Why would/could it destroy the universe?

I’m in a black holes course, so I’m just a student on this, but I can tell you what I learned on Friday. Geometric GR predicts things like “singularities”, where coordinates break down and you can’t describe space geometrically. It also predicts things like “horizons”, from which nothing can escape. A normal black hole is a classic example of a singularity inside a horizon. So even though physics breaks down at the singularity, you don’t have to worry about it, because it’s blocked by the horizon. The so-called Cosmic Censorship Principle is a conjecture which states that it will always work out like this; that a singularity will never exist without a horizon (“naked”). Although there are some theoretical situations in which you have a naked singularity, for instance, a black hole with a great electric charge, many assume that the Cosmic Censorship Principle is true, and that these things do not exist in the real universe.

I thought he said “Naked celebrities.” :confused:

A singularity with a charge an an angular momentum could be naked.

But what would it ‘look’ like? :slight_smile: