NCAA Men's Division II Title — My school!

On Saturday, my alma mater, Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., won the national title in the Division II men’s NCAA tournament. I graduated in 1985, back when it was just Bellarmine College but … woo!

I’m not a big basketball fan, despite living in Lexington, Ky., where you just have to breathe to be permeated by NCAA basketball (the University of Kentucky) … but I must say, from what I watched of the game, those boys could shoot! I couldn’t watch the whole thing; my son’s Honors Band concert was at the same time! :mad: Well, motherhood trumps alumnihood.

Anyone else see the game? Follow Division II basketball? I thought BYU-Hawaii had some excellent shooters too.

Here’s a link to a story:

http://www.courier-journal.com/article/20110327/SPORTS12/303270075/1002/sports/Fans-honor-return-national-champion-Bellarmine-Knights?odyssey=tab|topnews|text|Sports

My alma mater, UW-Platteville, has won the Div III title several times, including a couple of perfect seasons.
The coach? Bo Ryan, current UW-Madison coach.

Brian

Sigh. Not much love for Division II!

Not a Bellermine alum, but a Louisville resident and I was really proud of the Knights and Coach Davenport. If UK wins the tournament, it would mean that the NCAA I and II as well as the NAIA champs (Pikeville) are all from the Bluegrass!

“If” UK wins the tournament! Nobody in Lexington better hear you say that! :slight_smile:

My alma mater is Northern Kentucky University, and they are in the running every year. And your school beat mine in the second round!

I never would have thought I’d follow women’s collegiate basketball, then my alma started putting out some really good teams under a great coach. Kim Mulkey, Brittney Griner, Melissa Jones & Co. are still in it again this year and the Lady Bears won the whole thing in '05. Go Baylor! Go Bellarmine!