Need Advice for Stress Free, Fun Business Travel

In my line of work (I do indeed write for a living), I rarely get to travel for business. So when I do, it’s usually fun and novel, rather than the horrid “schlepping across the country” type.

And now it looks like I’m going to get to do a thing where I’m on a client site in another city for the work week, then flown home every weekend.

What exciting location am I jetting off to, you ask? Seattle? Honolulu? San Fran? NYC? New Orleans? The nightlife! The culture! The beautiful new vistas to be explored!

Or maybe I’ll just go to Wilmington, Ohio. I hear they have a shoe store AND a dentist.

As many of you know, I was raised about 20 miles east of the arsehole of nowhere. So I don’t have a problem working in a small town with little opportunity for “entertainment.” But I’m a complete novice when it comes to business travelling and I know some of you must have some great tips for making it smooth and stress free. I figure it will be fun for the first couple of months of the 4-6 month contract, and then the novelty will wear off and I’ll be nutso to get back to normal.

So…does anyone have any tips regarding these issues:

1. Any travel gizmos that are must-haves that will make me more comfortable and make my life easier?

2. Does any one know any way to make TERRIBLY short term travel arrangements seem less “frantic?” They called me yesterday and told me they wanted me there on Monday!

3. Hotel entertainment possibilities? There is an exercise room and a pool where I’m staying, but I’m also going to have a lot of free time. I knit and read…not sure how much time I’m going to want to spend sitting in a hotel room alone doing those things though.

4. Does anyone know anything about Wilmington, Ohio?