Need "Atta Girl!" for My Mad Construction Skills

I did it! Today I knocked out a section of my kitchen wall (down to the studs), added some horizontal 2x4s between the vertical studs, and put up drywall! I even re-wired an old socket and put a new, purty plug in.

On Tuesday I replaced our horrifying kitchen light with a new light-fan combo and it doesn’t even wobble an iota!

The secrets to my successes this week have been: a) to acknowledge that I’m not very good at this stuff and to be okay with slowing waaaaay down and thinking things through; and, b) to stop when I’m frustrated and start doing sloppy things.

Now, I need aspirin. Lots and lots of aspirin.

Wow. You have no idea how unwilling I am to do that kind of thing.

Atta Girl!

Very nice. Have you already done the taping, mudding and sanding? That’s the part I hate. Well, besides the everything else about drywalling.

Re: the new socket. Black to brass, white to silver?

Good for you! And you’re smarter than me: I get tired and I just want to be done so I start half-assing it. Fortunately I haven’t done anything permanent.

One minor nitpick. If they’re “mad,” they have to be “skillz.” :wink:

Aside from that, atta girl!

I’m like Silver Tyger Girl. My theatrical set-building experience is not a good thing for this kind of project. The axiom “Twenty feet covers a lot” doesn’t work well for home improvement.

The fact that you’re going slow, thinking things through, and stopping when you get tired and frustrated leads me to believe there is NOT a man involved in this project. :smiley:

rock on Jenn!

My better half prepped our bedroom floor so we can lay a new laminate floor on Monday. We just decided we would pull the trigger on the floor this morning. Nothing like planning ahead :wink:

I wisely stuck to the more manly task of leveling of a portion of our brick patio.

Good job!