Need *basic* help for Fallout 3--NO SPOILERS PLEASE

I just started playing Fallout 3. I am enjoying the game, but I am puzzled by a few things. I bought it via download, so maybe there is a little booklet included with the DVD version that I don’t have. (I am not a big gamer so maybe this stuff is obvious to everyone else. Last game I bought was Riven :o)

I don’t want spoilers or cheats, I just want to know basic game play. Anway, are there instructions that tell you what the hot keys are? Early in the game it teaches you how to move with WASD, and I found out by experimenting that F changes from 1st person view to being able to see yourself. But I have some basic questions:

How do I bring up the menu to save the game?

It keeps saying something like “To Enter VATS press V” but nothing happens. What’s VATS?

Is there anything else that is super-basic that I’m missing?

Thanks, and remember NO SPOILERS IN THIS THREAD

Snape killed Dumbledore.

What? It’s not a spoiler - everybody knows.

Save menu comes up with Esc. I assume you tried that already - if that doesn’t work, I smell a glitch. But even so, you can still quick save. Right?

VATS is the turn-based combat thing. Press it around enemies to pause the game and load in your attacks. If it’s not working, maybe you are trying it away from enemies.

For any further advice, wade through the enormous, spoiler-infested F3 thread.

Oh, a question of my own: how do you pickpocket? Is that similar to ‘Grab’?

In Esc main menu, you can learn/configure controls.