Need creative ideas: how to MacGyver something that's LIKE a fake plant

I’m looking for ways to DIY something with similar properties as fake plants (a few inches tall, stiff enough to hold their shape but with some bend & give, rather than being a hard surface) and am having a hard time thinking of anything.

Background: I have a couple of reptiles that do better with “clutter” in their enclosures, since they feel more secure than being in a wide open, flat space.
99.9% of pics of other people’s setups have fake plants. I HATE fake plants … but I’m having trouble filling that niche.

Solid hides I have a-plenty, but I’m looking for stuff the animal can crawl through and among.

Live plants come with their own issues (primarily, getting enough light) so what ELSE can I use?

Y’all have wacky ideas sometimes. This is a good place for that!

I’m not an expert on crafting, still less on reptiles, but what if you took a cardboard box of the right size to crawl through, and cut away the ends, and/or parts of the sides?

Straws?

Action figures.

Green colored paper?

Pipe cleaners + tissue paper. But why all the hate for fake plants?

Real plants, and then a bit later, dead plants.

Sturdy branches. Cutouts made from the kind of foams that are used for model landscapes. Lumps of clay (it doesn’t have to be baked clay). Would they be tromped by a trompe l’oeil placed behind their enclosure? I’m not a lizard but I’d rather have some sort of “fuzzy brown wavy stuff” on my background than a flat white wall; the idea isn’t so much actually making them believe that they’re outdoors (they’re primitive, not stupid) but just breaking the monotony.

Fake cactus??