Need some advice on my work wardrobe

I’m a chemist/engineer. Have been for about six years now.

The attire at my workplace ranges from casual to business professional. I’m at the far end of the casual range. My typical work attire is: Jeans, a collared shirt (untucked), casual fashion sneakers. I switch out of the shoes and put on ugly safety steel-toes when I go into the lab or factory.

I spend probably 80% of my time in the lab/factory. During these times, I’m wearing a lab coat as well.

There’s no big “push” for me to dress nicer. Hell, my boss’s wardrobe is pretty close to mine. But lately I’ve been feeling like, “Hell, I’m 30 now. I should stop dressing like a college kid. I want to move up, I need to dress like it.”

I’m feeling a bit awkward these days when I meet new employees (we’re hiring a bunch) and even moreso with customers (which is more and more frequent as I’m becoming an “expert” in my field) :rolleyes:. “Hey, look at me! Don’t let the slouchy jeans fool you, I’m an experienced professional!” :smack:

I guess I’m looking for advice on a look. Professional. Technical. But there are two caveats:

First: I work in a messy lab and an even messier factory quite a bit. A piece of clothing gets ruined from a chemical spill or splash maybe twice a year. So I can’t wear a suit, and I’d be way out of place if I did.

Second: Our customers are EXTREMELY casual. Think good ol’ boys, NASCAR, dubiously legal hispanic workers and messy, messy shop-floors. Even more so with these guys, a suit or even nice slacks and a dress shirt would make me out of place. That said, my current wardrobe probably makes them think, “psssh. College kid.”

I’m kinda stuck here. The new owners are European and dress quite nicely. Most of our customers are extremely casual. I deal with both. I’d like to find a happy medium between “casual and messy” and “sharp business attire”.

Any suggestions?