Need to know military personnel in given area(edited title)

Summary: Where does one look to find out how many military service-people live in your county/district?
Background:
I’m trying to plan a program for my final this term, and it’s being … we’ll go with “difficult.” We need to find a specific and interesting service population to market the program towards, and it has to be a population that 1) isn’t being duplicated by any classmates, 2) isn’t a group I’ve programmed for in my working life, and 3) isn’t a group I’ve used as a target population for other homework assignments. As there are roughly 30 of us in this class, I have run all the programming at my library branch for 5 years, and at another system for 3 years previous, and I’m in my last semester of a degree that was heavy on the developing and designing public service programs angle, this is becoming a right bitch of a requirement set.

To top it all off, in addition it IS supposed to be something that we could conceivably do in reality in our community, so I’m not allowed to choose a target population that doesn’t exist in large enough numbers to support/justify creating the programming for them. In other words, no moon-people or North Koreans or anything. Part of the assignment (and of previous assignments) is citing a community analysis that proves that there are people for the programs.
So, to repeat - how does one (can one?) go about finding population statistics for returned military peoples?

Need answer not really fast - I’ve got a few weeks on this.

Many enormous thanks for the assist!

I’d start w/ the census figures for your city or county; often these are on Wikipedia. I’m confused by your OP; are you looking for veterans or for active duty military?

Sorry! Currently active duty and just-returned vets - I’m thinking of a support program for their families.