Neophyte at sewing

The other day I popped a button off one of my work trousers. I contemplated using hidden safety pins to keep them wearable. I found some sewing supplies and thought that I might try to sew the button on all by myself, without consulting my sisters.

To my surprise, it was much easier than I thought it would be. The finished product would never impress anyone who is skilled with needle and thread, but I’m a little bit proud of myself.

Sometimes it is fun to discover self-reliance.

Good job, Keep it up!

I actually enjoy sewing. While I am not good at it, I can repair clothes & make simple things. If I had the time to take up another hobby, sewing would be on the short list to consider.

Surprisingly, at least to me, My brother & I can sew as well as most of our sisters. Not the seamstress, but the other ones. They all had at least two years of home economics in HS. Us boys took shop.

I daily use some tool pouches that I made from old blue jeans. Some of my fellow mechanics have asked me to make them some. I tell them that they can make their own as I do not have the time to make them some. The pouches are not ornate, nor even pretty, but they do the job that they were made for.

Again, let me encourage you to continue to at least repair your own clothing. I am pulling for you, 48.

Congratulations! Now get yourself a bottle of clear nailpolish and dab it onto the button thread and you won’t be buttonless for a good long time. Now, about that hole in your sock …

Thank you for the tip about the clear nail polish. I will do that. As for the socks with holes . . .

Probably not. Don’t want to push my luck.

OP: Good on you! Small “victories” really give a sense of accomplishment. I caught the “sewing bug” watching my grandmother do all manner of sewing and repair jobs, but never did anything until I learned to make quilts. It can be addictive. Where to next?