Netiquette Breach?

So, the strangest thing just happened to me. I’m a very serious hobbyist photographer, and I’m quite active in a number of photography forums. I’m quite used to getting e-mails from people who either have visited my website, or have questions that require a more direct answer than would be good on a message board.

Well, I took some pictures around Columbus yesterday, and posted a few to a message board, and this morning, I get a phone call. This guy just starts talking to me about my camera, and that he’s got the same one, and do I like a certain lens, and he just got this lens, and it’s good, etc… Very strange, and a bit creepy, frankly. He was very nice, and I didn’t want to be rude, but it seemed to be a very large breach of netiquette to me. He said he was 75 years old, so it’s possible he’s just a lonely guy trying to find another local photographer with a similar passion. I don’t know really how to feel about it.

Anyway, just odd.

How did he get your phone number?

Phone book.

Given his age, I’d just chalk it up to older people being much more comfortable talking on the phone than through emails/forums. Since I grew up with the internet, I’m just the opposite.

You put your real name on a website that’s intended for leisure-time perusal?

Weird.

My real name is on my photography web site. I have no problems with that. (Nor have I EVER seen a photographer have a website where they don’ t have their name on it). My copyright on my photos has my name. Not unusual for a photographer. In 5 years of having my website up, and a combined 10,000 posts on photography forums, this is the first time anyone has called me (aside from asking me to do a paid job for them.) I just found it weird.

Many photographers do. I’m not sure what significance ‘leisure-time perusal’ has to using or not using your real name.