Neutrinos vs. Antineutrinos

OK, so both neutinos and antineutrinos are subatomic particles emitted during various types of radioactive decay with no charge and very little mass.

My question(s) is(are) this(these): What is the difference between the two, and how were they both discovered?

Actually, the question of whether neutrinos and antineutrinos are different particles is still up in the air (disclaimer: I am not a particle physicist, although I am a physicist.) Until the discovery of neutrino mass, most physicists assumed that neutrinos were something called “Dirac spinors”, which means (among other things) that the neutrino and the anti-neutrino are different particles (just as the electron and the positron are different particles.) Since the observation of neutrino mass, though, a fair number of particle physicists have been advocating the idea that neutrinos are “Majorana spinors”, which would imply that the neutrino is its own antiparticle. (This isn’t as far-fetched as it would sound – the photon, for instance, is its own antiparticle.) To the best of my knowledge, the question hasn’t been settled conclusively either way.

As to how you detect neutrinos: since they interact very weakly with matter, you need a lot of matter that you can very closely observe to be able to see their effects, and you need that matter in an environment that’s well-shielded from other influences. So generally what you do to detect neutrinos is to go deep underground in an abandoned mine, fill up a big tank with heavy water or dry cleaning fluid and watch it very closely.

Oh, almost forgot: here’s a good review of the neutrino mass problem.