New therapy for sleep apnea, not a cpap machine. Anyone have experience?

Supposedly this retainer-like mouthpiece can replace a CPAP machine. Anyone have experience with it? Log into Facebook | Facebook

I’ve worn a night appliance for my TMJD that literally does the same thing - brings my lower jaw forward and holds it there while I sleep. I’ve been wearing it for about 15 years now.

Last year I was finally diagnosed with sleep apnea and started using a CPAP. It is doing wonders for me.

So, at least in my case, an appliance like this to hold my jaw forward clearly didn’t do the trick for me. I need that forced air.

There is also a device that does the same thing for your tongue, it pulls your tongue forward to keep your airway open.

No idea how effective it is compared to a CPAP though.

It seems to work for those who breathe through their mouths while they sleep. I sleep with my mouth shut (Nose Breather), so I’m not so sure that the mouth piece would work for me.

I believe the mouth guards help MOSTLY those people who sleep with their mouth closed. When I’m asleep at night, with my mouth closed, the air goes through my nose better when my lower jaw is extended.

Anecdote alert( I have not researched this ):

I was just talking to my dentist about this a few weeks ago. According to him until recently they weren’t allowed to make any claims about its efficacy for sleep apnea because it wasn’t considered proven to be effective. However recent studies have indicated that it can be useful for mild to moderate apnea. However he cautioned that if you have severe sleep apnea( and most folks that resort to CPAP machines do )it is NOT particularly effective.

My understanding is that it is one of those things that can help in certain more minor cases, but not for anything severe.