Nielsen Ratings

This column talks about using “People Meters” to accurately measure viewing habits.

I’m wondering about what the standards are, with regards to consider whether a program is being watched.

Suppose, on Super Bowl Sunday, I, a non-football watcher, get curious and switch to the Bowl for 7-8 minutes, am I counted ?

Also, am I counted for all the channels I check out in the Bowl timeslot ?

Cecil didn’t answer this most important question, even though it wasn’t specifically asked. How are these people chosen? Do I have a chance to get my own box? If so, how?

I studied Advertising in college, and was recently chosen to keep an Arbitron diary.

The day is divided into 15-minute segments. If you watch/listen to a show for five consecutive minutes, you are counted as having tuned in for that 15-minute block. True, you can, in theory, watch three different shows every five minutes. In reality, that doesn’t happen too much. Not sure how the black box handles that. For the diary, you are on your honor.

Radio was easy – I listen to the news and weather every morning as I eat breakfast, and that’s it. I also kept a TV diary a few years back and – yes, I admit it – I wrote down what I wanted to watch, rather than what I actually did watch. (For the most part they overlapped, but I remember there was one show I missed, but wrote it down anyway.)

Now, how do they deal with VCRs and time-shifting? (Neither of which existed in the late Paleozoic, when I went to college…)

– Beruang

So, for the Super Bowl, does viewing for a single 15-minute block count as watching the whole game ? The 130 million who “watch” the Bowl, are they

1. those watched a certain minimum percentage of 15-min blocks

2. those watched even a single 15-min block or

3. those who watched the whole thing ?

I think, a fair method would be 1.
Anyone else ?