"Nirvana made alt rock popular". Historical revisionism?

Was not The Cure, Depeche Mode, The Smiths, Joy Division, They Might Be Giants, and a bunch of other bands prior to 1991 both alt rock and popular?

Basically, no. Those bands were semi-popular, but alt rock didn’t achieve mainstream success until Nirvana.

I have an interesting take on this subject.

Nevermind was released in late 1991. I think that I heard it a little bit, but didn’t pay it any attention because I was a metalhead, and this was not metal(Even with the lyric about being a metal group in the song).

In Feb 1992 I enlisted in the Navy. My entire world at that point became preparation for boot camp. I left for boot camp in April of 1992. In boot camp, at least at that time, you ad very little contact with pop culture. When I graduated boot camp, I attended a 1 month training course at Great Lakes, so my boot camp experience was just over 3 months long. When I got home in late July, it was as if Nirvana had taken over the world. All my friends had T-shirts. My girlfriend, who was definitely not into any of the bands listed above, couldn’t wait to play it for me. It was like the entire musical landscape had changed while I was away.

I do not beleive that the theory that Nirvana made alt rock popular is revisionism. Nirvana single handedly ended the 80’s Metal scene.

And I still hate them for it :slight_smile:

Pearl Jam’s Alive was the song that made my friends and I think that the music we’d been listening to for a few years had finally arrived on the scene. It bore more of a resemblance to bands like REM than Nirvana did. Though, I think Nirvana’s impact on the music world was ultimately far more important and wide-reaching. They almost single-handedly killed 80’s hair rock.