No Contest Plea

Calling all lawyers…

Okay, I get arrested for some crime, and for whatever reason I decide I really don’t want to fight the DA so I decide to plead No Contest.

1. What does that really mean? That I did it but I don’t want to admit it and I don’t want to fight the charge?

2. Why would the DA accept such a plea unless they really didn’t have much of a case anyway.

3. Can the DA reject my plea and go ahead with the trial anyway? ’

4. Why didn’t Michael Jackson just plead no contest and avoid a 10 million dollar defense?

See this. You’re willing to accept punshment, but you’re not admitting your guilty.

To spare the expense and time for a trial. The defendant goes to jail much as if he had pleaded guilty.

It’s possible, but not likely. The DA knows he’ll be sending you to jail; why run the risk a jury would let you off?

Because he would have had to go to jail. The $10 million bought his freedom.

I am not a lawyer, but as I understand it…

1- Almost. It is a way of ‘not contesting’ the charges but not admitting it. Whether you actually did it is not strictly relevant… for instance, someone who is being framed but does not have the resources to fight an extended court battle might plead nolo contendere rather than guilty as a matter of principle.

2- Like a guilty plea, ‘nolo contendere’ is quite likely to end up in a legal conviction… guilty in the eyes of the law. There are some legal ramifications to the fact that you, as the defendent have not confessed your guilt - like if you pleaded not guilty and lost at trial. But since you’re not contesting, then (normally) there aren’t any witnesses called or arguments made by either side.

3- First off, guilty pleas and ‘nolo contendere’ do result in trials, just very short ones, I think. I’m not sure about the DA… the judge can override either and insist on a full trial, IIRC.