NO MORE COMPOST! (A really gross story)

Please, I beg of you, if you have a weak stomach, do NOT read on.

Still here? Ok, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Those of you who know me, know that I have recently moved into the house of my recently deceased mother-in-law to raise her two young sons. There are several procedures done in this house that I have no experience with, but I am trying to keep up with them. For example, the garbage is a big one. Where I come from, when something is garbage, you throw it in a garbage bag and eventually take it out of the house. Here, they practice recycling and compost.

Now, it took me a while, but I got the hang of the recycling thing, and I don’t mind it. Compost, on the other hand, seems a bit disgusting, and rather pointless. The concept is, you take all food scraps (ie peelings, leftovers, cores, etc), place them in this bucket on the back porch, and then … well, there is supposed to be something else done with them, but nobody has made it clear to me exactly what that something is. I think compost is supposed to be good for the garden, but I am not a gardener, and neither are the kids.

So mostly the bucket stays by the door, getting more and more stinky icky things being put into it.

Cut to Sunday night. I’m getting the boys’ lunches ready for school the next day. They’re having carrot sticks. I take the carrot peelings out to the bucket and lift the lid. There is a bag of rotting plums on the lid (not placed there by me), so I am balancing the plums on the lid as I lift it, holding the screen door open with my foot, and trying to put the carrot peelings into the bucket. Understandably, some get dropped. Not wanting to leave them on the porch, I hold the lid with my left hand and start to pick up the pieces.