Non-US Dopers: What Do You Wish You'd Been Warned About Before You Came Here?

Here is an interesting article (loosely translated from Russian) that warns Russian travelers of some pitfalls to avoid when visiting the US: http://www.mentalfloss.com/article/54461/4-russian-travel-tips-visiting-america

I’m curious: as a non-Murkin, what are some things that happen (or don’t happen) in the US that you wish you’d been warned about before you came here to visit? Or that you had been warned about, and whether or not the warning was accurate?

I’ll begin with a little background.
I completed my undergraduate degree in the US (Central PA) and after a few years of work outside the US, I’ve come back to pursue a post-graduate degree in Washington, DC. Before college, I was in a mostly English speaking environment so I speak “accent-less” American English. I am of Asian descent.

I wish I had been warned about how unabashedly racist many Americans are.

The usual “what kind of Asian are you?” and its variations don’t really bother me. I’m curious too when I meet other Asians.
What does bother me is offhand comments about kung fu, small penis if they think they can get away with it (i.e. outnumber me), how attractive they find Asian women or how many they’ve slept with (hey I like White chicks too, but I don’t feel the need to tell you about it). Apparently it’s a-ok to condescend to Asians. Hey, someone needs to put me in my place I guess.
What was also disturbing is all the anti-Black shit people would say when they thought it was “safe” to do so.
I also got called a ‘spic’ by a pickup truck speeding past, which was more strange than offensive I guess.
The above was mostly during undergrad in Central PA.

In DC, thankfully I’m in a more “grown-up” environment but on the streets I’m tempted to think random incidents of harassment, rudeness and mean-mugging from Black youths are at least partially due to my race but I have no way of verifying this so meh.